Schooling?

Bug reports, questions and answer along with general support should be posted here.

Moderators: Dev Team, S. Moderators

Schooling?

Postby Alex Eskimo » Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:31 pm

I'm back with another question about the makings of a virtual world! Now I am wondering, what kind of schooling did you (tony, alex, emmanuel) take to create Kingdom Island? What was your major and what kind of courses did you take?

This question is mainly for Emmanuel, but I would also like to know about Tony and Alex.
http://www.designpowerpoint.blogspot.com/
Alex Eskimo

Re: Schooling?

Postby alexronay » Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:38 pm

I was drawing ever since I could remember. In college I studied industrial design, though I was always illustrating and making graphics. Quite honestly, I didn't learn much from my major that contributed to my graphics or illustration, though it did teach me time management and team building skills. What I did learn a lot from is stock photography and illustrations. Currently I'm on a few stock sites selling clip arts and illustrations. In that market you learn a lot about what sells and what the new styles are. You also learn from observation. You see a lot of artists that are at your level, higher level, or lower level, and you get to see their work and why their work sells. The programs you use are not really that important, I realized this in college when they had me buy a really expensive program to draw things I really could've drawn better and faster through other free programs.

As far as courses, any graphics course will give you new insight over new techniques. Of course there are courses that you can take that may enhance your skills. An animation course can help you redraw objects in different poses or positions that may help you in the graphics world when it comes to drawing things in the best eye pleasing manner.